Effective December 1, 2017, North Carolina State Government created a new law, ‘Assumed Business Name Act,’ which stated all certificates of assumed business names must comply with the new law, NCGS CH. 66, Article 14A. This impacts any business registered with the County Register of Deeds to start a business or to file a Doing Business As (DBA) Name that is different from the legal name of the LLC or Corporation.
If your business filed before December 1, 2017, as a Sole Proprietor, General Partnership, or as a DBA under an existing LLC or Corporation, then you must re-file by December 1, 2022, or the business name will be terminated or deleted and your business will not legally be compliant to use it.
How can I re-file my Assumed Business Name Certificate?
To re-file by December 1, 2022, visit Business Link North Carolina (BLNC) Business Forms page.
- Complete and print the Assumed Business Name Certificate from, Letter “A.” Note: On the form Step No. 6, we suggest that you select “All 100 North Carolina counties” to ensure the business’ name is registered state-wide.
- Take the completed form to your local county register of Deeds office. There is a one-time registration fee of $26.00 that must also be paid. The Registrar will file the new form.
- The Registrar will file in their office and enter the information on the NC Secretary of State’s website for the new master business name database.
- About two weeks after filing, you can check if your business is listed on the master site by clicking on the NC State Registration Database or go to https://www.sosnc.gov/online_services/search/by_title/_Business_Registration.
What are the benefits of the new submission?
- On one form, you can now register up to five business names for only one fee of $26.00. Historically, it was one business name per form.
- When you re-file the Assumed Business Name Certificate, names are valid throughout North Carolina instead of in one specific county.
- No notary public stamp is required, which makes the process more convenient and less expensive.
- The $26.00 fee is a one-time payment. No additional renewal fees are required.
- After you file with your county Register of Deeds, there’s no further work for you to do. The registrar will submit proof to the NCSOS to list in the online database.
- NCSOS’s database will become the master database of NC businesses. Previously, each of the 100 counties had its own database and none of them “talked to each other,” so the information wasn’t available in other counties, much less state-wide. The master database will also be searchable online by the public.
What if I filed after December 1, 2017?
Any DBA filed since 12/1/2017 can be found here by entering the Assumed Business Name.
Should you have any questions or require additional information, please contact the BLNC team at 800-228-8843.